Trending - Eating Gluten-Free

Gluten-Free!!!

It's trending everywhere! 

Picture from- celiac.org

Picture from- celiac.org

What is it, why are people doing it and will it ever stop?!!?

An article from GluetnFree.com explained that, if any of the following are listed as an ingredient, it is not gluten free;

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Oats (unless GF certified)
  • Malt
  • Brewer’s yeast
  • Triticale
  • Durum
  • Einkorn
  • Semolina
  • Spelt/spelta
  • Faro
  • Emmer
  • Kamut® khorasan wheat.

In Middle school I had a classmate who had Celiac disease, which restricted her to a gluten-free diet. In all honesty none of my classmates understood, or sympathized with her need to pout every time we had pizza, cake or cookies. Sometimes we forgot she was not able to eat those things. But she always had some sort of substitute for herself. 

Now more people have removed gluten from their diet out of a desire for a lifestyle change.

Look what I found on www.glutenfree.com

From -https://www.glutenfree.com/#filters

From -https://www.glutenfree.com/#filters

https://www.glutenfree.com/#filters

https://www.glutenfree.com/#filters

I hope that helps you answer any questions you had about what it means to be gluten-free.

I am in no way an expert. I eat plenty of food containing gluten, but after my research, I'm thinking, maybe I should monitor my gluten intake!

 

Keeping it Fresh, Young & Free,

Ebeth Fielder